The Stone Arch Bridge was built in 1883 by railroad tycoon James J. Hill, aka the Empire Builder, and it is made of native granite and limestone. It measures 2100-feet long by 28-feet wide. The bridge consists of 23 arches, and spans the river below St. Anthony Falls in Minneapolis, MN. Until 1978 the bridge carried trains bringing wheat from the Red River Valley and Canada to the Minneapolis flour mills.
In the early 1990s, after not being used for over a decade, the Stone Arch Bridge was repaired and it now serves as a bike and walking trail.